Welcome to the new eBay Motors|Frequently Asked Questions|Send feedback|Return to the original eBay Motors
eBay MotorsHello! Sign in or register.
aAdvanced Search
 
Reviews & Guides
Yamaha R6 SCAM!!!!
By: jeffrey9841( 3 ) Top 5000 Reviewer
74 out of 76 people found this guide helpful.
Guide viewed: 5741 times Tags: R6|yamaha R6|yamaha|motorcycle|sports bike
(in response to Honda scam below) He's doing the same with the R6. I just experienced this myself. He gave me the info for the company that was going to do the shipping for him which was: www.cargo-trans-inc.net If you log on to this site and check out the "contact us" page it gives you the headquarters address, which is in Italy, but you can't find it in the international yellow pages: http://www.paginegialle.it/pg/cgi/pgsearch.cgi?l=2&cb=0&ts=1&btt=1&qs=Cargo+Trans&dv=RM&ps=8 He created a fake site & and probably a fake company. I noticed a few typos on the site and that's what gave it away. "A big company with a marketing department that doesn't catch typos?" This can't be right. Pretty elaborate scam. This could fool you if you rush into the good deal. He almost got me, selling an orange 2004 Yamaha R6 located in "Italy" with a buy it now price of $2800.00 But He couldn't give me details and answer my questions. Here's the email address he used this time around: vivf123@aol.com Pass this on to ebay community. This guy will get caught soon--there's ways of backtracking the emails that he's sending: http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum-replies-archive.cfm/614288.html -------http://www.johnru.com/active-whois/trace-email.html -------http://totaldream.org/index.php?page=articles&view=article&id=109 ---------------------------(honda scam--------------------------------------->>>>>> Further to the Hayabusa Scam, there is a guy, possibly the same guy, trying to sell Honda CBR1000rr's for real cheap. The pictures look genuine, like he took them in his driveway but the VIN is not included in the auction and he won't send it via email. When asked for more info about the bike he'll tell you that it's overseas, in Germany or Belgium, and tell you that he'll cover the shipping and insurance from there. The reason he says the bike is overseas is so you the buyer will not qualify for eBay buyer protection and as soon as you send him a message through eBay expressing interest in the bike, the auction mysteriously disappears. He says that he wants to sell it through a third party for everyone's protection, yet he ends the auction so that it can't go through eBay. I've seen the same scam on 2 seperate occasions with Repsol CBR's too, which is way too good to be true. I guess the bottom line is that if it looks too good to be true, it usually is. I hope everyone finds this helpful.

Guide ID: 10000000003629391Guide created: 05/24/07 (updated 09/25/08)

 
Was this guide helpful? Report this guide

Ready to share your knowledge with others? Write a guide

Write a Guide

Share your automotive expertise with the eBay community.

About eBay | Community | Security Center | eBay Toolbar | Buyer Services | Policies | Government Relations | Site Map | Help
© 1995-2008 eBay Inc. All Rights Reserved. eBay and the eBay logo are among the registered trademarks of eBay Inc. Kelley Blue Book® and Blue Book® are registered trademarks of Kelley Blue Book Co., Inc. Other trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners. Some automotive images © eVox Productions LLC, all rights reserved. Use of this Web site constitutes acceptance of the eBay User Agreement and Privacy Policy.