Hi,
This is just a quick and simple note to warn my fellow ebayer sellers about a scam that is set up to steal your account info and any other personal info that you don't want to share.It works by the scammer sending a question through the ask seller a question link and will appear something like the following (Please note the hxxp which means that this is a totally unsecure site)Secure site will start with HTTP or HTTPS.
This is a letter I received after useing the ask seller a question link.
Hello,
The buy it now price is $2700.00 and I offer free shipping. I am located in Smithfield, UT.
If you are still interested and want to buy it from me, we can make the deal safe for both of us trough eBay!
I will set up an auction on ebay with a buy it now option. To complete our transaction we will use Ebay Vehicle Purchase Program and after you'll use the buy it now option you will be contacted by ebay. After you will make the payment, you will send the payment confirmation to ebay and they will tell me to ship the machine because you have made the payment. After you'll receive the Ranger and inspect it (I offer 3 days for inspection) you will confirm to ebay and they will contact me and I'll be able to receive the payment. In this way we are both protected.
Thanks,
David
And here is another one.
Hello, My name is Lucy Avian. I am interested in your item. The problem is that I am a very confused as I've seen another item very similar to yours. Please, have a look: hxxp://3422784079/?motors.listings.ebay.com/Cars-Trucks_W0QQa10239ZQ2d24QQa10244ZQ2d24QQa38v1yZQQa38v2yZQQa39ZQ2d24QQa39705ZQ2d24QQa
Also Please note that the names used are fake and this will only lead you to a fake ebay listing.
If you receive one of these emails,Please report it to ebay so the fake listing can be removed quickly.
I truly hope that this helps atleast one person,Thanks
Thank you for voting. If your vote meets our